Barkur Witnesses Cricketing Extravaganza Under Lights at BMK Trophy 2024

-News Anand Kumar Barkur, Pics Subhanu, Barkur

Barkur,  - In a historic first for the region, the prestigious Shri Veera Maruti Sports & Cultural Club (Regd.) Barkur hosted the BMK Trophy 2024, a scintillating three-day night cricket tournament at the iconic grounds near Chowlikere Lake in the heart of Barkur, the capital of Tulu Nadu. This extraordinary event not only captivated cricket enthusiasts but also brought together a stellar gathering of dignitaries, entrepreneurs, and sports aficionados from far and wide.

Eighteen esteemed teams from across the region descended upon Barkur, vying for the coveted BMK Trophy 2024 in a display of cricketing prowess and fierce competition. The tournament was held in memory of the late Maski Bailu Krishna Mestri, paying homage to his enduring legacy.

The grand finale witnessed an electrifying clash between Arya Challengers, owned by Praveen Gadiyar of Barkur, and Friends Brahmavar from Bengaluru. After an intense battle on the field, Friends Brahmavar emerged victorious, clinching the BMK Trophy 2024 amidst thunderous applause and celebrations.

The closing ceremony was graced by esteemed dignitaries, including Shri Suggi Sudhakar Shetty (Entrepreneurs), Shri B. Shantaram Shetty Barkur (recipient of the Karnataka Rajyotsava Award), Shri Shrinivas Shettigar Ranganakere Barkur (Owner of Shettigar Industrial Group), Shri Santosh Kumar Shetty Nalkudru (Partner of Shri Batte Vinayak Towers Barkur), Shri Raj Shekhar Hebbar (Additional Director, Department of Collegiate Education), Shri Sundar Paul (Entrepreneur), Shri Bharat Das Birti (Convenor, Bajaranga Dala Brahmavara Unit), Shri Balakrishna Hegde (Entrepreneur), Shri Ratnakar Shetty (Entrepreneur, Dharwad), Shri Dinesh Shetty (Entrepreneur, Dharwad), Shri Aadarsh Shetty Haladi (Entrepreneur, Mumbai), Shri Sharat (Entrepreneur, Maskibail), Prathviraj Shetty, Billadi (President, BJP Yuvamorcha, Udupi District), Ramananda Shetty Barkur ( Member, Hanehalli Panchyath),  and Shri Prabhakar Shetty Bailumane Barkur.

The tournament was a spectacle of talent and sportsmanship, with several players receiving accolades for their exceptional performances. Lavish was awarded the Best Player of the Final, while Sachin Mahadev was honored as the Best Bowler of the Tournament. Naga Giliyar claimed the coveted titles of Best Batsman and Best Series Player. The Best Series Player was rewarded with a motorcycle, and the Best Bowler received a bicycle, recognizing their outstanding achievements.

The event was further enlivened by the electrifying performances of Rock DJ Barkur and the captivating Chande  by the Manjusha Women's Group, Kukkikatte adding a vibrant cultural dimension to the cricketing festivities.

The resounding success of the BMK Trophy 2024 was a testament to the tireless efforts and unwavering dedication of the organizers, volunteers, and supporters. Shri Veera Maruti Sports & Cultural Club expressed heartfelt gratitude to all those who directly or indirectly contributed to the triumph of this event.

The tournament was beautifully narrated and presented by the erudite Shri Damodar Sharma Barkur and Shri Ashok Kumar Barkur, adding depth and eloquence to the proceedings.

Congratulations are in order for the organizing committee, including Shri Rakshit Pujari Maskibail Barkur, Nikhil Kumar Shetty, Sachin Balehittalu, and all members of Shri Veera Maruti Sports & Cultural Club Barkur, for their exceptional efforts in orchestrating this cricketing spectacle that will be etched in the annals of Barkur's sporting history.

Add comment